The Wooden Chain

“I wear the chain I forged in life,” replied the Ghost. “I made it link by link, and yard by yard; I girded it on of my own free will, and of my own free will I wore it. Is its pattern strange to you?”

When I was much younger I read a short story in which a character spent much of his free time carving a wooden chain out of a long branch. Ever since I read that, the idea stuck in my imagination. There’s something really cool about taking a continuous unit like a tree branch and producing discreet but connected segments. I saw a couple links someone made this summer and decided to try it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I sawed out the corners of the piece of wood I was using and sawed the space between links on each side.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I spaced the links a little and started to make the first hole in the middle of a given link, between the two links it connects to. Once I carved the basic shape of the inside of a link in the middle, I sawed between the links in every way that I can.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once I’m done sawing, the links are connected only by a small piece between their two ends. I’ve had some trouble making enough space for me to carve that out with smaller tools, while keeping the chain structurally intact.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Then I cleaned the links up a little so that that they move smoothly.


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA




OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

